PCB chief Mohsin Naqvi hints a change in Pakistan’s T20I captaincy

PCB chief Mohsin Naqvi hints a change in Pakistan’s T20I captaincy. “Whether Shaheen continues or a new captain comes in will be determine after the fitness camp. ” Naqvi told reporters.

Shaheen Afridi may have to leave his short-term captaincy, as the Pakistan Cricket Board has hinted at a change in captaincy post. When asked if Afridi would continue as Pakistan’s captain, Mohsin Naqvi declined to answer. He inversely stated that the newly appointed selectors will choose the T20I captain.

“Even I’m not sure who the captain will be. The fitness camp [beginning on Monday] will determine whether Shaheen remains captain or whether a new captain is appointed. There are a number of technical variables that we shall explore, but I will not go into depth. We want a long-term solution, whether it be Shaheen or a new man. And then we intend to continue with that man, rather than simply changing captains when you lose a match or captain,” Naqvi told ESPNcricinfo.

Also Visit: Faf du Plessis opens up after losing the first match against CSK

Pakistan Cricket under severe turbulence

Amidst the turmoil in Pakistan cricket, the PCB will name 27 players from the team to train with the military in Kakul. Kakul is Pakistan’s well-known military training facility, and the selected player would spend ten days there. PCB delay to make a decision on probable changes to the Pakistan team till training is completed.

If Afridi is ask to step aside as captain, it will be the third change in the national team’s leadership in five months. Pakistan’s star batter, Babar Azam, who was hesitant to relinquish his position as team captain, force to withdraw following a poor World Cup 2023 performance. Furthermore, under pressure from management, he was force to experiment with his preferred opener’s position in the playing XI.

Also Read: Rahane’s boundary rope brilliance sends Kohli back into the hut.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My Cricket Deal
© Copyright 2021 My Cricket Deal