BCCI announces central contracts for 2023-24 season; Iyer-Kishan faces the axe.

BCCI announces central contracts for 2023-24 season; Iyer-Kishan faces the axe. A few days ago, BCCI secretary Jay Shah stated unequivocally that all players should prioritize playing domestic cricket while they are not representing the national squad.

On Wednesday, February 28, the BCCI release the yearly player contracts for the 2023-24 season. With numerous high-profile players missing out. A total of 35 players received contracts in four grades: A+, A, B, C, and fast bowling. Indian captain Rohit Sharma, ace batsman Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Ravindra Jadeja have been kept in the A+ category. Players in the A+ category earn INR 7 crore per year, while Grade A earns INR 5 crore. Followed by INR 3 crore and INR 1 crore in categories B and C, respectively.

Ravichandran Ashwin, Hardik Pandya, and Mohammed Shami were kept in the A category. While Mohammed Siraj, Shubman Gill, and KL Rahul were promoted from B to A. The most notable exclusions from the list of players were Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer. Notably, Iyer was in the B category while Kishan was in the C category on the 2022-23 contract lists.

The BCCI stated that the two players were not evaluate for annual contracts during the round of recommendations.

There were widespread indications that the duo about to be drop off contract lists due to their refusal to play domestic cricket despite the board’s repeated requests.

In a media statement, BCCI secretary Jay Shah emphasized the importance of players prioritizing domestic cricket at times when they are not on national team duties. Following the controversy, Kishan has eventually played in the DY Patil T20 tournament. While Iyer has made himself available for Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy 2024 semi-final against Tamil Nadu, which begins on March 2, 2024.

However, the action appeared to have come too late, as the board had already voted to dismiss them. Aside from them, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Umesh Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal. Who have fallen out of favor and no longer appear to be in the picture, have also failed to secure a contract.

Meanwhile, Kuldeep Yadav has been promoted from Grade C to Grade B. Yashasvi Jaiswal who sign his first contract, is also in Grade B, alongside Suryakumar Yadav, Axar Patel, and Rishabh Pant.

Also Visit: Shreyas Iyer to feature for Mumbai in Ranji Trophy semi-final

BCCI includes special fast-bowling contracts for five players

Category C includes a long list of 15 players namely Rinku Singh, Tilak Verma, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Mukesh Kumar, Sanju Samson, Arshdeep Singh, KS Bharat, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, and Rajat Patidar.

The Selection Committee also recommended contracts for fast bowlers Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal, and Vidwath Kaverappa. Furthermore, players who play at least three Tests, eight ODIs, or ten T20Is between October 1st, 2023 and September 30th, 2024 will be automatically included in Grade C on a pro-rata basis. As a result, Sarfaraz Khan and Dhruv Jurel, who have each played two Tests, will benefit from contract extensions if they play in the fifth Test against England at Dharamsala.

Also Read: Ben Stokes’ honest assessment after series loss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My Cricket Deal
© Copyright 2021 My Cricket Deal