Wanindu Hasaranga lashes out at umpire over non-no-ball call in third T20I

Wanindu Hasaranga lashes out at umpire over non-no-ball call in third T20I. The incident occurred in the final over of the match when Sri Lanka needed 11 runs off three balls.

During the third T20I between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan in Dambulla, Sri Lanka’s T20I captain Wanindu Hasaranga openly criticized umpire Lyndon Hannibal. It was due to his failure to call a high full toss as a no-ball, a decision that potentially impacted the outcome of the match.

Sri Lanka, having already secure the T20I series. Found themselves in a tight spot chasing Afghanistan’s target of 210 runs. With 19 runs required off the final over, a controversial umpiring decision stole the spotlight.

Hasaranga was unequivocal in his criticism of the umpiring decision, claiming that such errors should not occur at the international level. Wafadar Momand’s contentious delivery to Kamindu Mendis sailed well above waist height, clearly violating the ICC’s playing conditions. Despite the obvious breach, the square-leg umpire chose not to call a no-ball, causing outrage in the Sri Lankan camp.

“That kind of thing shouldn’t happen in an international match. If it was close [to waist height], that wouldn’t be a problem. Hasaranga commented on the incident, stating that if the ball had been higher, it would have hit the batsman’s head.

Also Visit: Babar Azam becomes fastest batter to reach 10k runs in T20

If the third umpire can check the front-foot no-ball, he should check this kind of no-ball as well – Hasaranga

The hosts were even denied the opportunity to review the decision due to current ICC regulations, which restrict player reviews for umpire decisions not involving potential dismissals.

Kamindu Mendis also questioned the decision and asked for a review. Due to a lack of options, Sri Lanka faced an uphill battle, needing 11 runs from the final two balls rather than three.

“Previously, you could review those calls, but the ICC eliminated that. Our batsmen attempted to do so. If the third umpire can check front-foot no-balls, he should also check this type of no-ball. There’s no reason they couldn’t. They didn’t even do that, so I’m not sure what was going through his (the square-leg umpire’s) mind at the time,” Hasaranga explained.

The contentious decision proved decisive as Sri Lanka fell short by three runs, giving Afghanistan their only victory of the tour. Despite winning the series 2-1, Sri Lanka’s victory was marred by the umpiring decision, which left a bitter taste.

Also Read: Why did MS Dhoni turn down the IPL Marquee Player offer?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My Cricket Deal
© Copyright 2021 My Cricket Deal