Sarfaraz Ahmed steps down from Quetta Gladiators’ captain

Sarfaraz Ahmed steps down from Quetta Gladiators’ captain. Sarfaraz guided Quetta to three finals and helped them win their first and only title in 2019.

Before the ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), the Quetta Gladiators have ousted wicketkeeper batter Sarfaraz Ahmed from the captaincy. Notably, Quetta had a dismal season in the previous edition, finishing last on the points table with only three victories from 10 matches.

Quetta’s owner, Nadeem Omer, indicated that Sarfaraz wish to take a break from captaincy. That a new captain would be select after conferring with head coach Shane Watson. Rilee Rossouw of South Africa and Saud Shakeel of Pakistan are reportedly in the running to replace Sarfaraz.

“Sarfaraz wants to take a break from captaincy. New head coach Shane Watson set to decide who will lead the side after consulting with team management. ” Nadeem Omer told Geo News.

Sarfaraz had an excellent run as Quetta’s captain. Leading them to three finals and helping them win their first and only title in 2019. In the previous season, the 36-year-old played eight games and scored 162 runs with an average of 27 and a strike rate of 104.51.

Meanwhile, Quetta will begin their PSL 2024 campaign against Peshawar Zalmi on Sunday, February 18 at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. In addition, the ninth edition of the event will take conducted in four cities: Karachi, Lahore, Multan, and Rawalpindi. The league will include six teams, with the final scheduled for March 18 at Karachi’s National Bank Stadium.

Also Visit: Injured Reece Topley decides to skip PSL 2024

PSL 9 will take place in two legs

PSL 9 will be held in two legs, with 14 matches taking place at Multan Cricket Stadium and Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium between February 17 and 27. From February 28 to March 12, the following 16 matches will be play at two venues: Rawalpindi’s Pindi Cricket Stadium and Karachi’s National Bank stadium. The four knockout matches will also be held entirely in Karachi.

Quetta Gladiators’ PSL 9 squad

Rilee Rossouw (Platinum), Mohammad Wasim, Jason Roy, Wanindu Hasaranga (all Diamond), Sarfaraz Ahmed (Brand Ambassador) Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain (all Gold), Mohammad Amir, Will Smeed (Silver) Saud Shakeel, Sajjad Ali, Usman Qadir, Adil Naz, Khawaja Nafay, Akeal Hosein, Sohail Khan, Omair Yousuf, Sherfane Rutherford, Bismillah Khan (partial replacement for Wanindu Hasaranga), Sufiyan Muqeem

Also Read: DK Gaekwad, India’s longest-living Test cricketer, has passed away at 95

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My Cricket Deal
© Copyright 2021 My Cricket Deal