Keshav Maharaj joins Fortune Barishal for the remaining season

Keshav Maharaj joins Fortune Barishal for the remaining season. Keshav Maharaj’s debut match will be against Durdanto Dhaka on February 14.

South African international Keshav Maharaj has joined Fortune Barishal for the remainder of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) season. He is expect to come in Chattogram on February 13 and play against Durdanto Dhaka the next day.

Barishal made the official statement that the incoming Maharaj will miss the domestic four-day competition in South Africa to compete in the franchise competition. Notably, Maharaj led the Durban Super Giants in the SA20 2024. Under his leadership, the squad advanced to the finals but lost to Sunrisers Eastern Cape by 89 runs.

Also Visit: Zimbabwe Cricket to restructure after ICC qualification heartache

Maharaj rule out of the national squad’s second Test against New Zealand

After suffering an embarrassing defeat at the hands of Tim Southee’s side in the first Test, South Africa had the opportunity to alter people for the second match, now that the SA20 had completed. However, the think tank voted against it since Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) regulation requires players to acclimatise to venue conditions before playing, which went against Maharaj and the other players.

Meanwhile, Maharaj’s inclusion will help Barishal qualify for the competition’s playoffs. He took 15 wickets in 13 SA20 matches, finishing as the tournament’s joint fourth-leading wicket-taker. Maharaj is predict to perform well in Bangladesh’s spin-friendly conditions. Barishal is presently rank fourth on the points table. As the BPL enters its final stages, the Khulna Tigers and Sylhet Strikers are just behind them.

According to ESPNcricinfo, a few South African players inquired about the possibility of participating in the ongoing ILT20, but none obtained a No Objection Certificate (NOC) from the CSA. With no series scheduled, South African players are expected to take a holiday before joining their respective franchises in the Indian Premier League. Players who are not part of an IPL squad will prepare by competing in a domestic event.

Also Read: Captain Uday Saharan examines India’s poor batting performance in the U-19 World Cup final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My Cricket Deal
© Copyright 2021 My Cricket Deal