India reveal their T20I squad for Ireland, with Jasprit Bumrah designated captain.

India reveal their T20I squad for Ireland, with Jasprit Bumrah designated captain. Bumrah last played for India in July 2022 and has been out with an injury since then.

The BCCI recently came forward to announce team India’s squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Ireland. In brilliant news for both the team and the fans, star pacer Jasprit Bumrah makes his much-anticipated return as he was named in the Indian squad for the games against Ireland as the skipper.

Bumrah has been out of contention for selection for more than a year as he sustained a stress fracture in his lower back in July 2022. Due to the major injury, the 29-year-old missed out on many big tournaments, like the T20 World Cup 2022. The Asia Cup 2022, and the 16th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023.

With Bumrah returning to international cricket as the skipper for the games against Ireland. Fans will be hoping to witness one of the best pacers in the world in action again. He will be fully healthy for the forthcoming ODI World Cup as well.

Also Visit: Stuart Broad recalls Yuvraj Singh’s assault in Durban

Ruturaj Gaikwad named vice-captain for Ireland series

In addition, Ruturaj Gaikwad, an Indian batter, has been named vice-captain for the three-match series against Ireland. The Indian team that will go to Malahide includes a slew of young players such as Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rinku Singh, Tilak Varma, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, and others.

Prasidh Krishna also returns to the Indian squad after being sidelined with an injury. Bumrah and Krishna have both lately been observed bowling to Mumbai batters in practice matches in Bangalore. Both pacers will also be hoping to return to international cricket at their optimum fitness after hard training at the National Cricket Academy (NCA).

The Indian team is currently in the Caribbean, playing a multi-format series against the West Indies. They will try to win the series and finish on a high note ahead of their match against Ireland. On Friday, August 18, the first T20I of the series against Ireland will be contested at The Village in Malahide.

Indian squad for the Ireland series: 

Jasprit Bumrah (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma. Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube. W Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan. 

Also Read: Rashid Khan withdraws from the event, dealing a significant setback to the Trent Rockets

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My Cricket Deal
© Copyright 2021 My Cricket Deal