A high-octane rollercoaster ride: 14 years of T20 World Cup

A high-octane: With the history, he has accumulated over the course of his 14 years, it actually seems like he’s been with us longer.

It’s easy to forget that the ICC T20 World Cup is only 14 years old. With the history he has accumulated over the course of his 14 years, it actually seems like he has been with us longer.

South Africa‘s first World Cup started in September 2007 and there has been no going back since.

Here’s A high-octane rollercoaster ride: 14-year journey of the T20 World Cup:

2007 edition

The surprises didn’t end when Zimbabwe stunned Australia, celebrating their first win over a full member of the ICC in four years, with Brendan Taylor leading the way with an undefeated 64.

Pakistan won all three games on the Super 8 stage, as captain Shoaib Malik led from the front and Gul was powerful with the ball to beat New Zealand and reach the final.

Yuvraj Singh was the ultimate player of the tournament, playing 70 balls out of 30 in a semi-final over Australia that set up a final between cricket‘s biggest rivals, which India won in just five rounds.

Meanwhile, the six sixes of him in an over against England made Yuvraj an international superstar.

Herschelle Gibbs was the only batsman to make it to international cricket before Stuart Broad dropped Yuvraj on the group stage. Yuvraj hit 50 on 12 balls and wrote a chapter in the still unmatched history of the T20.

2009 edition

For the highlight of the 2009 World Cup, all you have to do is watch the first game when the Dutch took an incredible Fourwicket victory at Lord’s.

Later, Gayle was back in the limelight, hitting 88 of 50 balls against Australia with sixes, breaking records for the widest oval crowd to see the ball on a historic floor.

English saw Australia beat Sri Lanka inspired by Kumar Sangakkara inspired in the first hurdle of the group stage.

Ireland defeated Bangladesh with six wickets and reached the Super 8 stage in their first World Cup appearance. Where they placed themselves in a difficult group alongside the eventual two finalists, missing out on all four finalists.

All the youngsters they watched tried to recreate the ‘Dilscoop‘ when Tillakaratne Dilshan ignited the event. Went 96 unbeaten against the West Indies in the semi-finals. And finished as the top scorer.

Shahid Afridi hit his bat and ball in the knockout round and reached the semi-finals. And finals when Pakistan beat Sri Lanka with eight wickets in a low-scoring Lord’s affair.

2010 edition

England ended their long wait to win an ICC-sanctioned global limited-overs event. When they dispatched arch-rivals Australia to become the champions in the West Indies.

Kevin Pietersen was named Man of the Tournament for his contribution to England’s triumph. And finished with 248 runs in six games despite a slow start.

Paul Collingwood‘s Group D team moved up to second place behind the West Indies. In the group stage after losing to hosts Duckworth-Lewis and another result against Ireland.

But England came to life in the knockout round. Leading their Super 8 group with wins over defending champions Pakistan and one of the pre-tournament favorites South Africa.

2012 edition

The first T20 World Championship to be held in an Asian country brought another champion for the first time. As the West Indies surprised the host nation and claimed their first title.

After Gayle, Kieron Pollard, and Sunil Narine honed their skills in the subcontinental conditions of the IPL. They put them on the bigger stage in a sensational way.

Darren Sammy’s men were consistent from start to finish. Ending an eight-year wait for the world silver medal after winning the ICC West Indies Champions Trophy in 2004.

You may also like: betting apps & 1cric Sports betting

2014 edition

A high-octane rollercoaster ride: Sri Lanka definitely lost its almost masculine reputation by winning the 2014 ICC T20 Men’s World Cup. And beating India in the final in Bangladesh with six wickets.

In the final, super death bowling by Lasith Malinga. And Nuwan Kulasekara held India down to 1304 and an undefeated 52 of 35 balls. Kumar Sangakkara saw his team at home.

Virat Kohli had won half a century with 77 of 58 in India innings. And finished the tournament as the top scorer of runs with 319 with an impressive average of 106.33.

2016 edition

A high-octane rollercoaster ride: The West Indies broke new ground with a sensational T20 World Cup victory in India in 2016 and were the first team to clinch the title twice.

Marlon Samuels blew his nation to fame in 2012 and returned four years later. He scored 85 of 66 balls to win his second gong player of the match in a T20 World Cup final after Fourwicket’s victory over England.

Samuels may have been the Player of the Game, but there was no question who had the champagne moment in the final.

A high-octane rollercoaster ride: All-rounder Carlos Brathwaite went from virtually unknown to cricket superstar when he smoked Ben Stokes four sixes in a row in the final.

Click here: West Indies women to tour Pakistan for three ODIs in Karachi
Read more about: Brad Hogg- “I think South Africa can pull off a few upsets” in T20 World Cup 2021
Visit also: Amit Shah will conduct an airborne assessment of the flood-ravaged state of Uttarakhand and assess the situation.

Let’s play and Register now!

Play Rummy Online with Dafabet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My Cricket Deal
© Copyright 2021 My Cricket Deal