MS Dhoni-led Team India Beat Pakistan to Win

MS Dhoni-led Team India Beat Pakistan to Win: On September 24, 2007, Team India marked a new era in cricket history. Exactly 14 years ago, India, led by a relatively inexperienced. But confident captain MS Dhoni won the first edition of the ICC T20 World Cup. The Men in Blue defeated arch-rivals Pakistan. In five races to lift the first T20 crown in front of a maddening crowd at the Wanderers in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The 2007 Twenty20 World Cup victory was also significant, as it was the Men in Blue. First major trophy to exceed the limit since the 1983 World Cup triumph. The world saw a remarkable feat when their Asian rivals played. What was perhaps the best final ever seen in a major ICC tournament? India was relatively inexperienced as they did not have a domestic T20 setup but made it to the semifinals of the first T20 World Cup.

They beat Australia by 15 races to set a date with Pakistan in the final.
On this day in 2007: MS Dhoni-led India won inaugural T20 World Cup |  Cricket News - Times of India

That same day, the Indian team won the pitch and decided to hit first. They soon lost the first player Yusuf Pathan and third-placed Robin Uthappa within the first six overs. However, Gautam Gambhir‘s decisive 54 balls 75 and Rohit Sharma’s late unbeaten flurry (30 of 16 balls) helped his team to a total of 157.

This day, that year: MS Dhoni-led Team India won first-ever T20 World Cup  in 2007, Watch - boom news

Pakistan needed 13 runs before the final with a wicket in hand. Dhoni was surprised by passing the ball to inexperienced Joginder Sharma to free Haq. Haq sent Sharma‘s second ball for a six and Pakistan came close to glory. However, he misjudged the next ball and played the ball, but it ended up in the hands of Sreesanth and India recorded a memorable five-run victory.

India’s young rookie team won the first-ever ICC T20 World Cup and the historic triumph is still on the minds of cricket players and fans around the world.

Click here: DC vs SRH IPL 2021 Highlights

Read more about: Shreyas Iyer says “Rishabh Pant is leading really well, respect decision to continue with him as captain” in the IPL 2021
Visit also: IPL 2021: Top 4 Players who can replace Virat Kohli as RCB Captain

Let’s play and Register now!

Play Rummy Online with Dafabet

One Reply to “MS Dhoni-led Team India Beat Pakistan to Win”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

My Cricket Deal
© Copyright 2021 My Cricket Deal